Bible · Contact Tom · Jesus · Leadership · motivation · purpose · religion · Uncategorized

Remedy for anxiety?

Yes, I know, I’ve already written a few blogs on anxiety. However, I recently watched a video on anxiety by Steven Furtick and I thought his teaching was worth another spot on my posts.

He began with Psalm 139:23-24.

Search me, God, and know my heart;test me and know my anxious thoughts.

See if there is any offensive way in me,and lead me in the way everlasting.

He listed seven things to consider when we are anxious.

1.INTAKE: What am I filling my mind with? Is it truth?

2.IMBALANCE:Am I taking in the Word of God?

3.INDECISION: I need to make decisions, trust God, and move on!

4.INTEGRITY: Is there anything in my life that lacks integrity and causes me to worry about exposure?

5.INTENTION: I need to shift from“what about me?” to“what about you?”

6.IMAGINATION: I need to take my thoughts captive to Christ and do what is right. I can’t allow myself to be trapped by the fear of what might happen, but replace fear with faith.

7.ISOLATION: We all need support. I can’t go it alone. I need the body of Christ for my support system.

These thoughts helped me to work through some of my own anxiety and I hope they are helpful to you. We need to ask God to search our hearts and then take personal responsibility for our anxiety. I would love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

