How old is too old?

Leaders read...I recently read the following interesting information in an email by River Walk:

“Ever use a thesaurus? Odds are it said, “Rogets” on the front of it. The only reason he began working on the first one was because he was forced to retire from the Royal Society at 70. The first thesaurus was published when he was 73 and he kept improving and updating them until he died 17 years later.”

I don’t know about you, but I am 63 and think often lately about what retirement from UPI will look like. Hmmmm….check out some other people who may have stopped doing a “job” but never stopped living life.

One of America’s greatest painters, Grandma Moses, didn’t pick up a paintbrush until she was 76 and told she was too old to continue her career in embroidery.

A traveling salesman sold 10 multimixers to Maurice and Richard McDonald who owned a couple burger joints in California and Arizona. To sell more mixers he tried convincing them they should go national. They said they would if he helped them manage the new stores. At 52 Ray Kroc became the manager and at 59 the sole owner of this little burger joint you might have heard of called McDonalds. Then ended up owner of the San Diego Padres.

Nelson Mandela becoming president at 76.

Moses was 80 when he confronted the greatest power in the world and said, “Let my people go!” 27 million were desperately waiting for him.

Somewhere there is another Caleb who at 85 said, “There is more land to take. There is another battle to fight. There is another victory for God ahead and I’m ready to take it!” Until my last breath exits my body, let me never stop working for God with everything I have in me.

My call…the bones may get old but the person who prays and listens to the Holy Spirit is not finished until buried. My old buddy Norm Wilhemi use to say…”You never know, you just never know.”

Be encouaraged.

8 thoughts on “How old is too old?

  1. Two issues always enter into every motivational conversation, regardless of age: Passion and Paycheck!

  2. LOVED IT! I’ll try to remember this when I am on another scavenger hunt for something I’ve misplaced. Now, off to find my linament rub….

  3. This is an interesting and thoughtful post, Tom. I think it is inevitable that as we age–certainly into the 70s and perhaps to some extent even into the 50s and 60s — that many of the standard organizations and existing structures will marginalize us. Perhaps it is not conscious at all — but I think I see a general trend in organizations toward prizing youth, fresh ideas, social-media savvy values over the value of organizational history and wisdom that comes with experience.

    So the solution for the one who ages, I think, is NOT to let one’s identity be found in position or identity with a particular company or title or function. At its base level, one’s authentication should be found only in being a child of God and being loved by the savior and creator.

    At a more practical and human level, however, I think what is called for is a shift in mentality to where personal value is shifted to a focus on relationships, servanthood, leaving a legacy and–above all–finishing well. It’s astounding how many people “peter out” toward the end of their lifetimes, either wasting time and energy on stereotypical retirement functions (travel, golf, etc.) or no longer using in ministry the gifts they were given.

    A good guiding plumbline is Eugene Peterson’s “A Long Obedience in the Same Direction.” Whether anyone notices or not, I want the latter years of MY life to be characterized by faithfulness to God, service to others, and leaving some kind of lasting legacy that uses whatever strength and gifting I have to help build the Kingdom.

    In Hebrews 13:7 the author encourages believers to “Remember your leaders, those who spoke to you the word of God. Consider the outcome of their way of life, and imitate their faith.” (ESV). That’s a good goal in latter years–to be one of those kinds of people!

Leave a comment